Meals on Wheels Benefit: 23rd Annual Star Chefs and Vintners Gala

Last night my friend invited me to the Meals on Wheels Benefit Gala at the Fort Mason Pavilion. The gala is a benefit for San Francisco’s homebound seniors, and is the organization’s largest fundraiser of the year.  There was a plethora of food and wine (I wish I did care for it), and by the time we got seated for dinner, I was already stuffed. And then after dinner, there was tons of dessert–tables and tables of dessert (my favorite!).  I couldn’t eat anymore!

Funniest moment from the evening: When I was trying to hold my appetizer and take a photo of it. Next thing I know, the food rolled off my plate and I tried to catch it, but I was not quick enough. I stepped away so fast that I couldn’t even watch it hit the floor, and I was praying no one saw me. Of course, some of my friends saw me. Next thing I know, Linh comes up to us and ends up stepping all over the food I dropped with her new heels. As horrible as this may sound . . . I was laughing so freaking hard. I am sorry!

Highlight of the evening: I mean, besides all the food . . . was when a served asked to see my ID when I asked for some wine. I was so flattered. Ha.

It was such a fun evening. Best gala I’ve ever been to! I felt so wealthy at one point, and then so ultra poor during the auction at dinner. Someone bidded 40k for 2 head chefs from Michael Mina’s restaurant to come to his/her home to cook dinner for a guests of 8. Insane. Who are these people!?

An excerpt from Bay Area Bites, “Nancy Oakes of Boulevard will be returning for her 7th year as Gala Chef Chair — it will be her 22nd year participating in the benefit. She will be leading an illustrious line-up of more than 70 of the Bay Area’s finest chefs. Who says too many cooks in the kitchen is a bad thing?

Among the chefs participating in this year’s gala are: Mourad Lahlou (Aziza), Jeff Banker/Lori Baker (Baker & Banker), Daniel Patterson (Coi), Douglas Keane/Nick Peyton (Cyrus), Jan Birnbaum (Epic Roasthouse), Thomas McNaughton (Flour + Water), Chris Cosentino (Incanto), Staffan Terje (Perbacco), Laurence Jossel (Nopa / Nopalito), Richard Reddington (REDD), Charles Phan (The Slanted Door), and Mark Sullivan (Spruce).”

All photos taken with my Canon S90 point and shoot.

One thought on “Meals on Wheels Benefit: 23rd Annual Star Chefs and Vintners Gala

Leave a Reply

