cherry blossom festival and nopa

Saturday evening Brian and I celebrated his birthday with a cake from Schubert’s Bakery. I had picked it up that afternoon, and there were a plethora of cakes. I couldn’t decide which one to get, but I picked the prettiest one–the raspberry mousse cake!

Sunday we took the bus to the yearly Cherry Blossom Festival in Japantown. It was packed like every other year, and we only waited in the shorter lines at the food stands. The line for takoyaki just wrapped insanely; we opted out. I tried to pawn off my frozen takoyaki, but no one would bite; I admit, it’s pretty disgusting and doesn’t taste anything like the real thing.

After walking around the festival, we killed time at YakiniQ Cafe. I love the decor at this cafe, and it feels very relaxing and comfortable there. I was thirsty, but I had the Mitchell’s green tea ice-cream which I couldn’t finish. I also didn’t want to get full before our delicious dinner at Nopa.

After resting up for a bit, we walked to Nopa which was about 1.5 miles. It was some good exercise to help build up our appetite. And you can see below what we ordered. The flatbread and the pork chop are my two favorite items from there. Delicious. My appetite must have gotten smaller too because I couldn’t finish my pork chop. And Brian’s appetite is that of a girl’s so I can’t count on him ever to finish my meals for me!

Schubert’s Bakery
521 Clement St
San Francisco, CA 94118
415.752.1580

YakiniQ Cafe
1640 Post St
San Francisco, CA 94115
415.441.9291

Nopa
560 Divisadero St
San Francisco, CA 94117
415.864.8643

One thought on “cherry blossom festival and nopa

Leave a Reply

