day 9: nara, japan

Entry written by boyfriend; photos by me.

Nara a.k.a. that place in Japan with all of the deer.  Or is it “deers?”  I don’t know.  Anyways this place is terrifying if you’re a small girl with many open pockets.  Deer in Nara are not bashful about being pickpockets.  You might think its cute that they’ll go through any open pocket, but then you realize that they have no hands!  What do they use?  Their tongue and a nice set of teeth.

One interesting thing about the deer is that they seem to bow to you.  At first you think its cute, but its just a ploy for food.  Pickpocketers and beggers.

Though I said its terrifying if youre a small girl, what I really meant is if you were a small foreign woman because Japanese kids are crazy for these deer.  You always hear “kawaii!” in anime and Japanese movies and I’ll tell you I’ve never heard that word more often than when we saw three elementary school classes descend on those poor pickpocketing deer.

Oh, also in Nara is Todaiji, but its really just a gathering place for the deer since theres an overabundance in tourists handing out crackers and buying yams.  Yup, maybe one or two steps above our pidgeons, but a whole lot cuter.

Todaiji was my favorite because it was so big.  Yes, that’s what she said and also what I said.  I’m not Texan so big things impress me.  Like all things, you hear its big and you read its big, but it doesn’t hit you until you actually see how gigantic it is.

Leave a Reply

